top of page

Before becoming an egg donor

A few years ago I was set on becoming an embryologist (Clinical embryologists are responsible for retrieving eggs, assisting with in vitro fertilization, maintaining clinical records and running tests on eggs) but due to certain circumstances I have now started a new journey of becoming a chef but never gave up on my dream to help couples create a little family. I recently registered to become an egg donor with Nurture and the process was simple, easy and exciting. I never thought I would of been chosen so quickly but I did, I got chosen to help a couple have a beautiful little baby.

As I am so young and everyone has their own opinions about this topic I started to have mixed emotions and many doubts about the whole process. The Nurture team quickly put my mind to ease with the numerous phone calls, emails and text messages I had every question answered, every doubt brushed away and I had many people who cared not only about creating a family for a couple but cared about me and my health, safety and security during the first steps to become an egg donor.

Becoming an egg donor can be scary as the word "donor" on its own it's a daunting phrase to wrap your mind around but it's actually quite simple. Becoming an egg donor means a small lifestyle change that will only benefit yourself and improve your body for the future, very little to no side effects and a few doctor appointments is all it really takes. Throughout the process of becoming an egg donor you will sympathize with others and learn the ugly truth about infertility and how disappointed, humiliated and soul destroying it is to find out you can't have your own kids ? You will learn all about your body, your eggs and how the whole process works when creating a tiny fetus and how magical it is to know that you could help bring a life into this world.

 You will get to learn all about these medical machinery that make life possible and you will meet wonderful people through the process. You will hold this experience close to your heart for the rest of your life, you will create awareness of infertility, you will promote egg donning, you will be a better person physically and emotionally after this joyful rollercoaster.

The numerous questions I have asked and the thousands of articles I have read have put my mind to ease.

Will you gain weight ? No, you might experience a small amount of bloating during ovulation.

Will I suffer from depression ? No, very unlikely but because of going on the pill (If not already on a pill you might experience slight mood changes)

Yes you will have to take injections at home - they are painless and quick.

What if I don't have enough eggs for myself - The Doctor will check way before anything even begins that you are in a healthy condition and your eggs are healthy and that you have enough as well as do blood tests to ensure. And NO this is not my child, it's not my baby and it's not my responsibility, it is one little cell that I am giving to two people who will create millions of cells from my one cell and create their own masterpiece. Yes I gave them the foundation to do so but without the sperm, the uterus, the placenta, the millions of other cells created from that 1 cell there would be no baby, I am donating a cell and they are creating a baby, THEIR very own baby.

There are so many questions that I could ask and Nurture has a settling answer for each one.

 I continue to have doubts and mixed emotions as we never know the outcome of anything in life but what I do know is I am capable of making a change in this world, I am capable of bringing life, happiness and a forever after to a deserving couple who has spent time, money and a lot of energy into the process, I know that they will be forever grateful to me for giving them a second chance in life to have a family and I will be forever grateful that I am so blessed to help others and bring happiness to someone. I believe in myself and this journey and I hope many people will support me in my decision to become an egg donor.

I look forward to sharing my journey with you.

Jocilyn

Megan Colorado - Picture 


bottom of page